Nominations Open for the Historic Preservation Award

Historic District MapSince 2011, the Boulder City Historic Preservation Commission and City Council have granted an annual Historic Preservation Award (a plaque and certificate) to recognize the hard work of our local citizens in their efforts to maintain and enhance the architectural, historical, and cultural heritage of Boulder City. The Commission will select an awardee in April. The award recipient will be recognized by City Council via an individual video posted online to the City’s webpage and social media accounts during Preservation Month, May 2024.  

Is your restoration project a winner? Have you seen a preservation project you think is award-worthy? We invite you to nominate projects you believe are most deserving of this honor! Nominations are open now through Sunday, March 10, 2024.

Click Here to Nominate a Property for the 2024 Historic Preservation Award!

Award Criteria:

  • The property must be located within the Boulder City Historic District.
  • The award is based on the exterior of the building/property, as readily visible from the street.
  • The award is open to all properties and/or features (residential, commercial, institutional, religious, parks, landscapes, streetscapes, and so on).
  • The award can be for a historically appropriate remodel, addition, or new construction, or for an excellent example of preservation or restoration.
  • The award will not be based on the number of nominations for a property.

The Historic Preservation Commission will consider factors such as whether the building or feature:

Requirements for nominations:

  • Property address, or name of current business/church/institution.
  • Any property can be nominated by any person.
  • Although not required, photo submissions (especially BEFORE & AFTER photos if applicable) will be of assistance to the Commission.

Nominations can be submitted:

  • Online
  • By mail to the Community Development Department, City Hall, 401 California Avenue, Boulder City, NV 89005.

Deadline for submittals:

The Commission looks forward to receiving your nominations!